Soitenly
Moronika
The community forum of ThreeStooges.net

Moronika is moving back home on September 1st!

Offline Dunrobin

• (Rob)
  • Administrator
  • Spongehead
  • Webmaster
    • The Three Stooges Online Filmography
As our old-timers know, this forum was once part of ThreeStooges.net.  Unfortunately, as time went on the site became more of a resource hog, and eventually I had to move the forum to its own domain, which eased up the drain on the server.  Thus, Moronika.com was born.

It also made me realize that the bulk of the problem that we had been having was my original coding for ThreeStooges.net.  I'm a self-taught  programmer, and frankly there were things that I missed that were contributing to the problem.  Fortunately, I found an excellent object-oriented coding framework that was well documented, and I used it to completely rebuild ThreeStooges.net.

But I wasn't confident about handling user registration and authentication, so I ended up using someone' else's solution.  That worked, but it didn't have a good way to automatically keep the spammers out, like the forum does, do I came up with a bastardized hybrid which did the trick, sort of.  But there have always been issues with it and I've never liked it.

This summer I started looking into blending the forum back into the main site, where it belongs.  I've been working on making and testing the coding changes on my local server, and I'm nearly done.  I plan on wrapping it up this weekend, and since I've already taken next Friday off to make a long Labor Day weekend, I'm going to make the change online on September 1st.  ThreeStooges.net and the forum will be put in Maintenance Mode in the morning, while I transfer everything over to ThreeStooges.net.  If everything goes according to plan, they should be back up and running by early afternoon.

Offline metaldams