Soitenly
Moronika
The community forum of ThreeStooges.net

Hollywood or Bust (1956) - Dean Martin and Jerry Lewis

Offline metaldams

YouTube warning alert.  There are about three or four instances where the audio goes out for a few minutes.  Every time, this is during a musical number.  I’m assuming this is the only reason why we are able to view this film on YouTube in the first place, as I’m guessing the musical recordings are copyrighted.  I would think the film would be too - but whatever.  For free, we get what we can take.

So I’ve been reviewing films for almost ten years and I’m finally getting around to Martin and Lewis.  There’s a reason why it took me so long - I’m not exactly a big fan.  I’ve seen maybe half of their films and the subject of this week’s review and the last of the Martin and Lewis films, HOLLYWOOD OR BUST, I just had my first viewing of.  My overall verdict is this film is good.  Not great, but good.  I will compare it to my other Martin and Lewis experiences.

For me, a fatal flaw of Jerry Lewis’s screen character is anytime they try to make him anything but his child like character.  Whenever drama or pathos is applied to Lewis, it just does not work, he’s unbelievable and I just think Jerry Lewis can’t play anything at least I sympathize with.  The film THAT’S MY BOY is a great example of this and was one of the most excruciating viewing experiences I’ve ever had, but I’ll save that for another time.  Here?  There’s fortunately none of that.  The Jerry Lewis character in this film plays nothing but goofball comedy and I find the film better for it.