The community forum of ThreeStooges.net

Personal News

Offline Dunrobin

• (Rob)
  • Administrator
  • Spongehead
  • Webmaster
    • The Three Stooges Online Filmography
I was recently diagnosed with metastatic prostate cancer, which has spread and created a tumor the size of my fist in my right pelvis region.  It may have also spread to my adrenal glands and possibly the tail end of my spne (more scans are being set up to verify those.)  I am just beginning a treatment to stop the growth of the cancer (and hopefully even shrink it a bit), and we will be looking at surgery and maybe radiation therapy to remove it.

Not exactly the kind of news you want to hear to start your new year off with, but that's life for ya.

I was a wild and crazy youth.  I ran away from home to join the Army when I was 17.  I lived in the wild out west more than once; I hitch-hiked back and forth across the U.S. many times in the 70s and 80s, and I loved to party.  The fact that I ended up surviving into full adulthood without having destroyed my liver, broken any bones or catching a venereal disease is something of a miracle.  LOL

So I can't really complain.  I've had a lot of fun over the years.  I've lived in, vacationed in, or at least traveled through, 38 of the 50 states - most of them by the time I was 30.  I've done a wide variety of jobs, including, in no particular order: oil field roustabout, printing press operator, security guard, secretary to the Director of Nursing at a nursing home, gas station cashier, stock clerk, swept up pasta at Prince Spaghetti, purchasing agent at an overhead door manufacturer, patio furniture salesman, steel salesman, dishwasher at a Jewish temple, automotive materials expeditor, internet tech support, web site developer, and of course, whatever the heck I've been doing at the hospital for the last 20 years.