Soitenly
Moronika
The community forum of ThreeStooges.net

Re: Tolkien (split from Cover Songs)

Guest · 18 · 9750

Pilsner Panther

EDIT NOTE FROM DUNROBIN -
I've split these posts off from the Cover Songs thread, since while its an interesting discussion, these posts had nothing to do with the original topic.

However, the Nimoy rendition of "Bilbo Baggins" isn't all that bad, in fact, its kinda cute.

Well, Giff, it can't be any worse than the source material. Damn, how I despise that "elfish whimsy" crapola. J.R.R. Tolkien is the (singing) William Shatner of novelists.

I was assigned to read and do a book report on the first "Lord of the Rings" novel when I was a freshman in high school. After reading one chapter, I practically begged my English teacher to give me another book to read, because I was just getting sick to my stomach with all the cutesy-poo swill on every page.

He was surprised, but he agreed, and he gave me Herman Melville's "Typee" instead. I think we were both relieved. I didn't have to read another page of that Tolkien garbage, and he didn't have to read the book report in which I would have trashed it like nobody's business. Which it would have well deserved.

[bitchin]

From Dorothy Parker's review of the original "Winnie The Pooh," in the New Yorker, 1920's: "Tonstant weader fwows up."

And there you have a reaction exactly like mine to Tolkien's "writing," from about 60 years before.

[thumbsdown]

« Last Edit: May 07, 2006, 09:27:33 AM by Dunrobin »

Offline shemps#1

• Pothead, Libertarian, Administrator, Resident Crank and Baron of Greymatter
  • Global Moderator
  • Chowderhead
  • Hatchet Man
I know this is veering off topic, but I couldn't agree more Pils. Tolkien is absolute garbage. Some lady I was banging five years or so back suggested I give those books a chance, and I got through about ten pages before I gave up in disgust.

Pure fucking garbage.