Moronika
The community forum of ThreeStooges.net

Sweet Spirits of Nighter (1941) - El Brendel and Tom Kennedy

Offline Paul Pain

• Moronika's resident meteorologist
  • Muttonhead
  • The heartthrob of millions!

IMDB: https://www.imdb.com/title/tt0141867/

This is it.  SWEET SPIRITS OF NIGHTERS.  I have been seeking this film for nearly 8 years, or about 85 years fewer than people have been trying to find Harry Langdon's HEART TROUBLE.   As I have said before in many other places, this film was deemed so scary by the British film censors (noted for their totalitarianism) that it was given an 'H' rating meaning that minors could not see this film!

It's an El Brendel film, so of course parts of it are awful.  But God bless El because man can he take the slapstick abuse like an absolute champion.  This film does better, however, because here his usual accent is just part of his character and not the driver of the comedy.  The role calls for a bumbling fool, and his approach to the events that happen in this particular short do service to a disjointed script.

Tom Kennedy found himself paired with various comedians over the years: Monte Collins, Shemp Howard, and El Brendel in particular.  Like El, he's here to be a bumbling idiot, and except for one scene with El his size relative to the typical Columbia shrimps isn't utilized so effectively.  At 6'3", Tom was huge, but then again El Brendel was 5'9".  No wonder Bud Jamison and Vernon Dent were given a separate scene and no wonder Duke York didn't seem so intimidating against them.  [pie]

Seriously, Tom is just serviceable in this one, but he does work well with El.  That was Tom's strength: he could strike up nearly instant chemistry in any situation.  Here, he gets put into several strange situations, like the hole in the ceiling gag.  Sadly, this gag doesn't get used so effectively.