Soitenly
Moronika
The community forum of ThreeStooges.net

Flat Foot Stooges Question

Offline metaldams

I'm researching the Charley Chase Stooge era a bit, and while nothing is officially credited as far as writing credits go, Charley Chase, on threestooges.net, wikipedia, and imdb, is credited as the uncredited writer for FLAT FOOT STOOGES.  I certainly can believe this, but is this a written in stone fact, or is there still debate about this?  Any info from the Stooge experts here would be appreciated.  I just find it strange that no writer was officially credited for this short.
- Doug Sarnecky

Offline Shemp_Diesel

I'm no expert, but I always assumed that the writers for Flat Foot Stooges were Al Giebler & Elwood Ullman since they wrote all the other Chase shorts.
Talbot's body is the perfect home for the Monster's brain, which I will add to and subtract from in my experiments.

Offline metaldams

I'm no expert, but I always assumed that the writers for Flat Foot Stooges were Al Giebler & Elwood Ullman since they wrote all the other Chase shorts.

I think most of the shorts Al Giebler and Elwood Ullman wrote together were brilliant and also have very similar structures.  FLAT FOOT STOOGES is very different and I actually wouldn't be surprised if Chase wrote that one, because as good as he can write, I'm not sure if he was meant to be a Stooge writer.

FLAT FOOT STOOGES has always been a very different Stooge short to me, and I wouldn't be surprised at all if Chase wrote it.  I'm just wondering if anybody has any proof, perhaps through Columbia's files, about Chase actually writing the short since no one is credited.  Al Geibler and Elwood Ullman writing FLAT FOOT STOOGES would shock me.
- Doug Sarnecky

Offline MR77100