Moronika
The community forum of ThreeStooges.net

Best comedy team ever?

Boid Brain · 127 · 20281

Offline metaldams

I wouldn't say the Martin & Lewis films are unwatchable. There are plenty of laughs in many of them, especially the earlier ones like 'The Caddy', 'That's My Boy', 'Sailor Beware', 'Scared Stiff' among others. To really enjoy Martin & Lewis just watch their live TV appearances on the Colgate Comedy Hour, especially when Dean has a chance to shine. Just because you don't like Jerry is not a reason to shortchange Dean.

I admit "Sailor Beware" was somewhat tolerable because of a few good sight gags.  "The Caddy" opens with a great chase scene and is was absolutely awful after that.  When I mentioned pathos and Jerry Lewis earlier, this is the movie I was referring too.

Jerry Lewis would've been fine as a gag writer, I won't take that away from him, but as a comic character, he's too hard to stomach.

As for Dean, I actually think his music career has overshadowed anything he's done with Jerry Lewis.
- Doug Sarnecky

Offline Boid Brain

Jerry Lewis is complete fucking waste. His on screen persona makes me want to scrape out my ear drums with a rusty fork. He has never been funny in his entire life and outside of movies is a useless asshole who is completely out of touch with reality.

Fuck Jerry Lewis.
Hmmm...you seem as passionate about Jerry as I am about Shoeless Joe. You say he is a complete fucking waste. That's an astounding proclamation! "Complete waste" implies that he was also a bad writer, a bad director, a bad casting director, a bad dancer, a bad film editor and God knows what else the guy did bad!

I don't like Bing Crosby. I think he was human garbage. But he was a good singer, a good actor and a fair dancer....see what I'm sayin'?

Offline OldFred

You've got to give Jerry at least some credit as a director for the innovation of inventing the video playback which is still used in film making today.

Offline metaldams