Soitenly
Moronika
The community forum of ThreeStooges.net

Your comedy background...what is it?

Offline metaldams

OK, there are a few posters I know well, a few I don't know so well, and some I kind of know.  I know we all love The Three Stooges, but what other comics and brands of comedy do you like?  Knowing this can help trigger future discussion.

As for me, I have kind of a camp sense of humor in some ways, so I love really good bad movies, y'know, Ed Wood type stuff.  My signature about "my perfect body" is a Mickey Hargitay quote from BLOODY PIT OF HORROR, a great, trashy Italian S&M torture fest with Euro Super babes.

I also love the great silent comedians that were a partial influence on The Three Stooges, like Buster Keaton, Charlie Chaplin, Harold lloyd, etc.  I'm VERY passionate about those guys.  Also love W.C. Fields, Laurel and Hardy, and Abbott and Costello and like some of the old 30's and early 40's screwball comedies as well.

While I'm no expert, I also enjoy the occasional Monty Python and Mel Brooks film, and love The Simpsons.  THIS IS SPINAL TAP is also pure genius, and for the morbid side of my humor, I find crooked televangelists very entertaining.

What about you guys?
- Doug Sarnecky

Offline archiezappa

I like Abbott & Costello, Laurel & Hardy, Martin & Lewis, The Marx Brothers.  You know, all those old comedy teams like that.  I also like Mel Brooks movies.  I agree that "This Is Spinal Tap" is pure genius.  Hey, imagine the three main characters from Spinal Tap played by Moe, Larry & Curly.  That would be funny.  Moe as David St. Hubbins.  Larry as Derek Smalls.  Curly as Nigel Tufnel.  Wow!  That would really be funny!  Vernon Dent could be that keyboard player.  Imagine the hijinks! 

Moe:  You call that a guitar solo?

Curly:  No, I was just tuning up.  Nyuk, nyuk, nyuk!

(Slap!)

Larry:  We have two visionaries in the group...

Offline busybuddy