Moronika
The community forum of ThreeStooges.net

A Modern Day Religious Quandry

Poll

Are the bagpipers within their rights to refuse to play at my friend's wedding? READ BELOW

Yes
6 (100%)
No
0 (0%)

Total Members Voted: 5

Offline shemps#1

• Pothead, Libertarian, Administrator, Resident Crank and Baron of Greymatter
  • Global Moderator
  • Chowderhead
  • Hatchet Man
Here's the deal. I have a friend who's originally from the DC area and is now shacking up with a woman in Tennessee. His religious beliefs are Wiccan/Pagan whatever that shit is (all religion is shit if you ask me) and they wanted to hire some bagpipe players for their Halloween wedding (why is beyond me). When they inquired about price the bagpipers emailed them back with a quote and inquired if it was a Pagan wedding due to date. When my friend replied back in the affirmative the bagpipers then told them that they refuse to work the wedding.

I told my friend that I while I'm no lawyer I think the bagpipers are in the right to refuse to play the wedding because doing so could infringe on THEIR (the bagpipers) religious beliefs (I repeat, religion is bullshit). It may suck and be shitty, but they are probably within their legal rights to do so.

So I thought I'd leave the question to you guys. What do you think? Do the bagpipers have a right to refuse to play the wedding, or does my friend have a legit descrimination case?
"Give a man a fish and he will eat for a day; teach a man to fish and he will eat for a lifetime; give a man religion and he will die praying for a fish." - Unknown

Pilsner Panther